The original DJ association was formed and incorporated under a Provincial Charter by letters patent given under the hand and seal of the Director of Consumer and Commercial Relations in Toronto, Ontario. The corporation was chartered as a Not-For-Profit corporation #1454369 on January 19, 2001 under the name of The Canadian Online Disc Jockey Association Inc. also to be known as CODJA with attorney Martin Gladstone, LLB representing the partners, Dennis Hampson, Glenn George Miller and Suzanne Cathrine Miller as the first directors. Dennis Hampson was appointed President.
On March 14th, 2002, both partners, Glenn Miller and Cathrine Miller, resigned the association and Dennis Hampson assumed control with Linda Hampson as a director and Vice President. From 2002 until 2007, all operations of the association were funded annually by Dennis and Linda Hampson. In 2007, it was decided that an expansion of the association into an “annual dues” association would take place to provide further financial stability and to provide licensing and insurance programming.
The association then made application for supplementary Letters Patent through the association’s legal solicitors Greenberg & Levine to have the name of the association changed to the Canadian Professional Disc Jockey Association Inc. also to be known as CPDJA, on October 7th, 2008. Dennis Hampson remained President with Linda Hampson acting as Vice President. A new Board was then put into place to manage the affairs of the association. The association continues to be overseen by a volunteer Board of Directors.